CARR Research Units

CARR Research Units

Here are the Centre for the Analysis of the Radical Right’s (CARR) current research units and respective research heads:

CARR’s Counter-Extremism Unit

Unit Head: Dr Natalie James

(N.C.James@leeds.ac.uk)

CARR’s Gender Research Unit

Unit Head: Dr Julia DeCook

(jdecook@luc.edu)

CARR’s Geography Research Unit

Unit Head: Alexander Reid Ross

(aross@pdx.edu)

CARR’s Ideology Research Unit

Unit Head: Balsa Lubarda

 (lubarda_balsa@phd.ceu.edu)

CARR’s History Research Unit 

Unit Head: Dr Louie Valencia-Garcia

(lvalencia@txstate.edu)

CARR’s Organisation Research Unit

Unit Head: Michael Zeller

(Zeller_Michael@phd.ceu.edu)

CARR’s Political Violence and Terrorism Research Unit

Unit Head: Bethan Johnson

(bj279@cam.ac.uk)

CARR’s Populism Research Unit

Unit Head: Dr James F. Downes

(jamesfdownes@cuhk.edu.hk)

CARR’s Technology Research Unit

Unit Head: Professor Megan Squire

(msquire@elon.edu)

About CARR’s Research Units

CARR’s research units exist to provide a forum for research activity for CARR fellows. Each research unit is headed by a CARR fellow and focuses on a discrete aspect of radical right extremism. It is hoped that the research units will evolve into positive sites of scholarly exchange for researchers engaged in studying the radical right; both within and outside CARR – with events, reports and podcasts to follow.