CARR’s Populism Research Unit

CARR’s Populism Research Unit (PRU)

About the PRU

The CARR Populism Research Unit features international experts whose research examines the ‘rise’ of populist radical right parties in Western Europe (Switzerland, Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Germany and the United Kingdom) alongside Central-Eastern Europe (Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, Ukraine & Georgia), Northern Europe (Norway) and the Balkans region (Montenegro).

The CARR PRU is also available for media commentary alongside consultancy relating to topics that examine populism, the radical right and the ‘mainstreaming effect’ of radical right discourse in European and Global Politics. Please contact the PRU Head Dr. James F. Downes for any media and consultancy related enquiries.

Members

Dr James F. Downes - Centre for Analysis of the Radical Right

PRU Head: Dr. James F. Downes (jamesfdownes@cuhk.edu.hk)

Dr Hans-Georg Betz - Centre for Analysis of the Radical Right

Prof. Hans-Georg Betz 

(hans-georg.betz@uzh.ch)

Dr. Valerio Alfonso Bruno

(Deputy Head)

(valbru85@gmail.com)

Dr. Mette Wiggen

(m.wiggen@leeds.ac.uk)

Sophie Schmalenberger

(soschma@cas.au.dk)

Michael Cole

(michael.cole@ut.ee)

Alessio Scopelitti

(as17191@bristol.ac.uk)

Balsa Lubarda

(Honorary Member)

(Lubarda_Balsa@phd.ceu.edu)

Lynda Gilby

(lynda.gilby@tuni.fi)

 

Dr. Carmen Aguilera-Carnerero

(carmacar@ugr.es)

 Sabine Volk

 (sabine.volk@uj.edu.pl)

Monika Hübscher

(mo.huebscher@pm.me)

Dr. Alan Waring

(alanwaring3@gmail.com)

Nicolas Bichay

(bichayni@msu.edu)

Daniel Jones

(Daniel.Jones@Northampton.ac.uk)

Maureen Eger

(maureen.eger@umu.se)

Dr. Andreas Önnerfors

(andreas.onnerfors@gu.se)

Professor Aristotle Kallis

(a.kallis@keele.ac.uk)

 

Professor Ruth Wodak

(r.wodak@lancaster.ac.uk)

Dr. Ico Maly

(I.E.L.Maly@tilburguniversity.edu)

Dr. Vasiliki (Billy) Tsagkroni

(v.tsagkroni@fsw.leidenuniv.nl)

K.E. Shropshire

(kshropsh@andrew.cmu.edu)

Justin Gilmore

(jtgilmor@ucsc.edu)

Current PRU Projects:

  1. CARR “Right Rising” Podcast Series: Populism in Europe
  2. CARR PRU Annual-In-Year Review Report
  3. CARR Collaborative Online Research Webinar (Joint Collaboration with the CARR IRU)
  4. CARR PRU Online Populism Teaching Collaborative Webinar